Carnaross Gaelic Football Club County Meath Ireland

Under-14's claim League title

Carnaross 2-15 Kilbride 1-7

Under-14 Division 3 Spring League Final

Played in Syddan – 30/4/2012

Carnaross claimed the Under-14 Division 3 title with a fantastic team display against Kilbride.

Playing with the aid of a strong breeze in the first-half, Carnaross set the early pace and had five points on the board after ten minutes with two each from Frank O’Reilly and Sam Reynolds and one from Patrick McDermott. Kilbride opened their account but another two points from Frank O’Reilly and Liam Day maintained the Carnaross pressure. Kilbride were then awarded a penalty after fifteen minutes but Patrick Smith pulled off a fantastic save to keep them at bay. Kilbride added another point but Carnaross finished the half strong with a point from Pauric O’Connor before Liam Day found the net just before the break to give Carnaross a 1-8 to 0-2 interval lead.

After the restart Kilbride started brightly with the wind advantage and two early points indicated Carnaross would be under a lot of pressure. However, they had other ideas and hit back immediately with points from Aidan Lynch and Frank O’Reilly. Kilbride continued to pile on the pressure and were rewarded with a goal and a point after ten minutes to reduce the margin to only five points. Yet again though, Carnaross kept their cool and their slick passing was rewarded when Frank O’Reilly fired low past the keeper to the net. Once again Kilbride hit back and were awarded a second penalty, but Patrick Smith reproduced his first-half heroics and saved the spot kick. Kilbride reduced the margin further with two more points but pressed the self destruct button by having two players dismissed for striking offences. This was enough to secure victory for Carnaross and they went on to add further points from Frank O’Reilly (3) and Aidan Lynch (2) before the final whistle.

Carnaross: Patrick Smith; Brian O’Connor, Ciaran McDonagh; Jack Roche, Stephen Gillic, Gareth Muldoon; Aidan Lynch (0-3), Sam Reynolds (0-2); John Brogan, Frank O’Reilly (1-7), Patrick McDermott (0-1); Cormac Sheridan, Liam Day (1-1); Subs: Pauric O’Connor (0-1) for Cormac Sheridan;




Search Site

Fixture List

Sunday 25th February
In Ardcath @ 3:00
A League - Round 4
Carnaross v St Vincents

twitter feed