Carnaross GAA Club, Co. Meath - A82 DW01

2007 Junior D

Carnaross 1-7 Gaeil Colmcille 3-18

Junior D Championship

Played in Drumbaragh – 13/5/2007

Carnaross suffered their second heavy defeat in the Junior D Championship, this time going under to neighbours Gaeil Colmcille.

Right from the start of the match the Kells side dominated with little response from Carnaross. They led at half time by 3-10 to 0-3 with Daniel Reilly getting all three points for Carnaross. The second-half was a continuation of dominance from Gaeil Colmcille. Three more points from Reilly and one from Stephen Flaherty was all Carnaross could add and Rory O’Connor scored a goal late in the game.

Eamonn Comaskey, John Plunkett, Emmet Mullan, Ciaran McDonnell and Daniel Reilly battled hardest for Carnaross.

Carnaross: Gary McDonagh; Rory McNiffe, Eamonn Comaskey, John Plunkett; Emmet Mullan, Ciaran McDonald, Stephen Flaherty (0-1); Pearse Caulfield, Rory O’Connor (1-0); Damien Smith, Alan Carroll, Colin Yore; Damian McArdle, Daniel Reilly (0-6), Tadhg Skelly; Sub: Enda Gillic for Gary McDonagh;

Carnaross 2-8 Drumbaragh 3-17

Junior D Championship

Played in Kells – 1/5/2007

Carnaross were on the receiving end of a heavy defeat from neighbours Drumbaragh in the opening round of the Junior D Championship despite being well in contention at the break.

The first-half was a highly entertaining affair with all but two of the scores coming from play. Carnaross took the lead through a point from Michael Wilcox in the opening minute. Drumbaragh then started to score with almost every attack to lead by a few points. Carnaross battled on with points from Rory O’Connor, Stephen Dawson and Alan Carroll. Carroll added a goal to put Carnaross back in touch and were only two points behind at the interval, 1-8 to 1-6.

Drumbaragh got the opening point of the second-half. Minutes later they were awarded a penalty which they converted. Suddenly the gap had widened and Carnaross never managed to close it. Carnaross were also awarded a penalty at the midway point which Stephen Dawson put away. Drumbaragh were not to be caught and despite further points from Rory O’Connor and Stephen Dawson they ran out convincing winners on a scoreline of 3-17 to 2-08.

Best for Carnaross were Conor Kenny, Emmet Mullan, Ciaran McDonnell, Rory O’Connor, Stephen Dawson and Alan Carroll.

Carnaross: Conor Kenny; Emmet Mullan, Eamonn Comaskey, John Plunkett; Ben Carry, Peter Farrelly, Ciaran McDonnell; Michael Wilcox (0-1), Rory O’Connor (0-3); Stephen Flaherty, Daniel Reilly, Stephen Dawson (1-3); Alan Carroll (1-1), Pearse Caulfield, Rory McNiffe; Subs: Enda Gillic for Rory McNiffe; Tadhg Skelly for Ben Carry; Gary McDonagh for Michael Wilcox;




Our Pitch Sponsors

Thanks to all our sponsors for your continued support