Carnaross GAA Club, Co. Meath - A82 DW01

2008 Junior D

Carnaross 2-10 Boardsmill 0-10

Junior D Championship

Played in Bohermeen – 20/5/2008

Carnaross were made to wait 40 minutes as the opposition searched for the correct pitch but their patience was rewarded with their first victory in the Junior D grade for many years. Following a mix-up over the location of the match, Boardsmill first went to Athboy, then to Martry and finally to Bohermeen.

Carnaross had the better of the first-half with the two man full-forward line of Niall McDonnell and Stephen Flattery causing many problems for the defence registering three points apiece. Rory O’Connor also scored three first-half points before adding a goal from the penalty spot after being dragged down in the square. Carnaross led 1-8 to 0-3 at the interval.

Boardsmill came back into the game after the break scoring three quick points from play. Alan Carroll scored a point from play for Carnaross before Boardsmill responded with three more points, two from frees. Going into the closing stages Stephen Flattery ensured victory would go to Carnaross with a well taken goal following a fine team move. Boardsmill got the final score of the game as Carnaross ran out six point winners.

Carnaross: Stephen McGrath; Aiden Shannon, Matthew O’Reilly, Aodhgan Comaskey; John Plunkett, Ciaran McDonnell, Enda Gillic; Alan Carroll (0-1), Shane Comaskey; Brendan O’Reilly, Rory O’Connor (1-3), Alan O’Reilly; Damian McArdle, Stephen Flattery (1-3), Niall McDonnell (0-3); Subs: Tadhg Skelly for Alan O’Reilly;

Carnaross received walkovers from Longwood & Drumconrath in the second and third rounds.

Carnaross 1-2 Don./Ashbourne 4-13

Junior D Championship

Played in Simonstown – 18/7/2008

Carnaross proved to be no match for Donaghmore/Ashbourne in their final group game. They trailed at the break 2-11 to 1-2. The goal came from Colin Yore with Shane McNiffe and Niall McDonnell registering a point each.

While holding the opposition to only four scores in the second-half, Carnaross failed to score at all. Both sides advanced to the quarter-finals with Donaghmore/Ashbourne topping the group.

Carnaross: Stephen McGrath; Colin Yore (1-0), Matthew O’Reilly, Aiden Shannon; Peter Farrelly, John Plunkett, Enda Gillic; Peter Farrelly, Rory O’Connor; Damian McArdle, Stephen Flattery, Alan O’Reilly; Shane McNiffe (0-1), Daniel Reilly, Niall McDonnell (0-1); Subs: Tony Morris for Stephen McGrath; Tadhg Skelly for Alan O’Reilly;

Carnaross 1-4 Dunsany 0-8

Junior D Championship Quarter-Final

Played in Kilberry – 6/8/2008

Carnaross made their exit from the Junior D Championship following a close and exciting encounter with Dunsany which ended in a one point defeat.

Carnaross found the first-half tough going with Dunsany on top for most of the half. Dunsany led 0-5 to 0-1 at half-time with the Carnaross score coming from a Rory O’Connor free.

Dunsany scored the first three points of the second-half and looked to have the game wrapped up. However Carnaross never gave up the fight and following a goal from Richard Mulvey and points from Thomas Farrelly, Shane McNiffe and Rory O’Connor they had cut the Dunsany lead down to a single point with time almost up. However they could not get the equaliser before the referee blew for full time much to the relief of the Dunsany supporters.

Best for Carnaross were Stephen McGrath in goals who pulled off a couple of great saves, Cathal Allen, Matthew O’Reilly and Thomas Farrelly in defence, midfielders Richard Mulvey and Peter Farrelly, and Rory O’Connor and Conor Kenny in attack.

Carnaross: Stephen McGrath; John Plunkett, Matthew O’Reilly, Cathal Allen; Carl Gillic, Thomas Farrelly (0-1), Aiden Shannon; Richard Mulvey (1-0), Peter Farrelly; Peter Farrelly, Rory O’Connor (0-2), Conor Kenny; Stephen Flattery, Niall McDonnell, Enda Gillic; Subs: Shane McNiffe (0-1) for Peter Farrelly; Brendan O’Reilly for Niall McDonnell;