Carnaross GAA Club, Co. Meath - A82 DW01

2011 Junior D

Carnaross 0-8 St Mary’s 1-13

Junior D Championship

Played in Rathkenny – 1/5/2011

The Junior D Championship got off to a bad start for Carnaross with an eight point defeat to St Mary’s.

Playing with a strong wind in the opening half, Carnaross went in a goal behind at half time. Rory O’Connor led the scoring with four points. Shane Casserly chipped in with a point but the highlight of the first half for Carnaross was a sublime forty yard effort from Tadgh Skelly. However, a goal in the closing stages for St. Mary’s put them in the driving seat despite playing against the wind.

After the break St. Mary’s dominated and went on to add seven more points while Rory O’Connor accounted for two Carnaross points.

Carnaross: Shane McNiffe; Ian Donoghue, Tom Shortt, Peter Farrelly; Colin Yore, Sean Carroll, Stephen McGrath; Charles Dillon, Rory O’Connor (0-6); Shane Casserly (0-1), Pearse Caulfield, Stephen Flattery; Alan O’Reilly, Tadgh Skelly (0-1), Ruairi McNiffe; Subs: Stephen Dawson for Sean Carroll; Patrick Smith for Tadgh Skelly; Paul Donoghue for Stephen McGrath; Tomás Plunkett for Ruairi McNiffe; Damian McArdle for Charles Dillon;

Carnaross 1-9 Trim 2-12

Junior D Championship

Played in Athboy – 14/5/2011

Carnaross started the game well and a fantastic goal from Tadgh Skelly put them 1-2 to 0-1 in front after 10 minutes. However, Trim fought back to score a goal of their own and at half time led by four points, 1-6 to 1-2.

In the second-half Carnaross played some of their best football and with ten minutes to go Trim only led by a point. However, Trim scored a late goal and added on a couple of points to win by six points.

Best for Carnaross were Enda Gillic, Colin Yore, Rory O’Connor, Patrick Smith and Tadgh Skelly.

Carnaross: Shane McNiffe; Paul Donoghue, Matthew O’Reilly, Peter Farrelly; Ian Donoghue, Enda Gillic (0-1), Colin Yore; Tom Shortt, Rory O’Connor (0-7); Shane Casserly, Patrick Smith (0-1), Ruairi McNiffe; Stephen McGrath, Tadgh Skelly (1-0), Alan O’Reilly; Subs: Sean Carroll for Ruairi McNiffe; Damian McArdle for Stephen McGrath; Tomás Plunkett for Peter Farrelly;

Carnaross 3-9 Drumconrath 2-8

Junior D Championship

Played in Nobber – 12/6/2011

Carnaross recorded their first Junior D win with a good team performance against Drumconrath.

Carnaross hit the front with an early point from Stephen Flattery. A well taken goal by Tadgh Skelly inspired Carnaross who added on two more points from Colin Yore and Rory O’Connor while Drumconrath chipped away with three points. Carnaross were then awarded a penalty and Rory O’Connor made no mistake from the spot calmly slotting the ball past the keeper. Drumconrath scored the final point of the half to trail 2-3 to 0-4 at the interval.

After the restart Carnaross started well and three quick points from Rory O’Connor (2) and Stephen McGrath stretched the lead to eight points. However, they were then guilty of taking the foot off the gas and Drumconrath punished them scoring 1-2 without reply. Rory O’Connor added a point from a free but Drumconrath completed their comeback with another goal and a point to leave the sides level going into the closing stages. Carnaross upped their game again and Stephen Flattery put them back in front with a point from play and added to it in the next attack when he found the net after the Drumconrath keeper misjudged his long range effort. Another free for Drumconrath reduced the margin once again but a point from Tomás Plunkett was the insurance score for Carnaross.

Carnaross: Shane McNiffe; Matthew O’Reilly, Tom Shortt, Peter Farrelly; Emmet Mullan, Enda Gillic, Patrick Smith; Fearghal Comaskey, Rory O’Connor (1-4); Colin Yore (0-1), Stephen Flattery (1-2), Gavin Gingles; Stephen McGrath (0-1), Tadgh Skelly (1-0), Alan O’Reilly; Subs: Conor Kenny for Gavin Gingles; Tomás Plunkett (0-1) for Tadgh Skelly; Damian McArdle for Stephen McGrath;

Carnaross 0-9 Clann na nGael 0-17

Junior D Championship

Played in Kells – 7/7/2011

A poor start proved costly for Carnaross as they suffered an eight point defeat to Clann na nGael.

Clann na nGael had an eight point lead before Stephen Flattery scored their first point. Clann na nGael continued to dominate and still had an eight point lead at the break, 0-12 to 0-4.

There was a much improved performance from Carnaross in the second-half. Points from Alan O’Reilly, Enda Gillic and Rory O’Connor kept them in the hunt but they didn’t manage to reduce the eight point lead as Clann na nGael held on.

Carnaross: John Ward; Paul Donoghue, Tom Shortt, Matthew O’Reilly; Ian Donoghue, Enda Gillic (0-1), Thomas Plunkett; Rory O’Connor (0-5), Stephen Flattery (0-2); John Carpenter, Pearse Caulfield, Stephen McGrath; Damian McArdle, Tadgh Skelly, Alan O’Reilly (0-1);