Carnaross GAA Club, Co. Meath - A82 DW01

Tailteann Cup: Carnaross advance with victory over Kilbride

Tailteann Cup: Carnaross advance with victory over Kilbride

Carnaross' strong third quarter performance proved a bridge too far for a competitive Kilbride outfit played on a well presented Bective pitch. 

Carnaross 3-17 Kilbride 0-13

Tailteann Cup (Quarter-Final)

Played in Bective – 7/10/2018

Carnaross played with the wind in the first half and began proceedings with a point. This was followed up with a well worked goal finished low to the corner by Thomas Nugent. Kilbride and Carnaross shared the next 4 points before Carnaross began to establish a foothold in the game. Frank O’Reilly was getting on the ball and began to dictate proceedings despite his ill-advised verbals prior to throw in. Carnaross dominated possession securing kickouts through Carpenter and Reynolds which gave the forwards ample opportunities to convert. O Reilly converted a couple of frees to leave Carnaross 1-08 to 0-05 at the change of ends. Carnaross could have been further ahead but some wayward passes left Kilbride with some confidence with the wind to come in the second half. 

Indeed Kilbride narrowed the gap to 3 points with the first few scores of the second half, but that was as close as they got as Carnaross increased the tempo. Paddy McDermott’s work ethic began to pay dividends as he had a goal ruled out before being fouled for a penalty that O’Reilly converted. Killian Porter drove tirelessly at the Kilbride defence over the course of the hour and helped himself to 4 points from play. Tomás Plunkett also converted to cap an industrious performance. O’Reilly was again to the fore, when he went on a characteristic mazy run, which ended up setting up Ollie Murphy to punch home. Murphy added to his tally shortly after when he rose highest to punch over a 45 that dropped short. Kilbride responded with a flurry of points but couldn’t muster any goal threats as the Carnaross rear-guard stood firm. Their sole effort from a free was tipped over the bar by McNiffe in goals for the hoops. There was time at the end for Murphy to sell his trademark dummy on the right before raising the white flag with the left. 

Carnaross ran out deserving winners in the end kicking an impressive 2-9 against a strong wind in the second half. They move on to the semi-final of the Tailteann Cup in the coming weeks. 

Carnaross: Shane McNiffe, Matt O’Reilly, Peter S Farrelly, Jack Roche, Ian Donoghue, Stephen Dawson, Peter Carpenter, Thomas Nugent (1-0), Tomás Plunkett (0-1), Frank O’Reilly (1-9, 1-0 pen, 0-4fs), Killian Porter (0-4), Sam Reynolds, Shane Casserly, Paddy McDermott (0-1), Ollie Murphy (1-2). Subs: Cian Yore for Matt O’Reilly, Tadgh Skelly for Stephen Dawson.


2018 A League Division 3:

R1: Carnaross (4-7) Ballinlough (0-8)
R2: Dunsany (1-11) Carnaross (1-8)
R3: Carnaross (1-7) Kilmainham (0-12)
R4: St Vincents (1-5) Carnaross (1-6)
R5: Carnaross (0-10) Drumbaragh (1-5)
R6: Cl. na nGael (2-6) Carnaross (3-15)
R7: Carnaross (2-15) Longwood (1-13)
R8: Cortown (1-10) Carnaross (1-11)
R9: Bective (0-8) Carnaross (2-11)
R10: Carnaross (4-18) St. Ultans (1-9)
R11: Meath Hill (1-13) Carnaross (2-7)
Playoff: Carnaross (4-13) Blackhall (0-13)

2018 Junior Championship

R1: Carnaross (1-13) Clonard (0-12)
R2: Carnaross (2-9) Clann na nGael (0-7)
R3: Carnaross (4-21) Drumconrath (0-6)
R4: Carnaross (2-17) St Brigids (2-8)
R5: Carnaross (1-14) Moylagh (1-8)
QF: Carnaross (1-18) Dunsany (1-16)
SF: Carnaross (0-12) St Vincents (1-10)

2018 B League Division 5:

R1: Dunshaughlin (2-8) Carnaross (2-11)
R2: v O'Mahonys (Not Played)
R3: Carnaross (0-18) Ratoath (0-9)
R4: Gl. Colmcille (2-10) Carnaross (0-19)
R5: Carnaross (1-25) Don/Ash (0-8)
R6: Drumbaragh (0-5) Carnaross (4-16)
R7: Carnaross (3-18) B'brackey (0-10)
R8: Clonard (scr) Carnaross (w/o)
R9: v Kilbride (Not Played)
Final: Carnaross (1-9) B'brackey (0-7)

2018 Junior C Championship

R1: Carnaross (1-11) Syddan (1-10)
R2: Carnaross (0-13) Dunderry (0-10)
R3: Carnaross (4-22) Cortown (0-4)
R4: Carnaross (0-15) Blackhall (0-7)
QF: Carnaross (1-19) Simonstown (1-9)
SF: Carnaross (0-8) Cln. na nGael (2-11)

2018 Tailteann Cup

QF: Carnaross (3-17) Kilbride (0-13)
SF: Carnaross (2-7) Dunsany (1-9)
Final: Carnaross (1-9) St Vincents (0-9)




Our Pitch Sponsors

Thanks to all our sponsors for your continued support