Carnaross GAA Club, Co. Meath

2018 Junior C Championship - Group C

Pos Team Pl W D L SF SA SD Pts
1. Carnaross 4 4 0 0 76 34 +42 8
2. Dunderry 4 3 0 1 68 40 +28 6
3. Syddan 4 2 0 2 25 29 -4 4
4. Blackhall Gaels 4 1 0 3 40 47 -7 2
5. Cortown 4 0 0 4 17 76 -59 0

JCFC R3: Cortown can't handle 'cans'

An emphatic victory over Cortown put Carnaross through to the knockout stages of the Junior C Championship

Carnaross 4-22 Cortown 0-4

Junior C Championship (Round 3)

Played in Kilmainham – 27/7/2018

Carnaross maintained their perfect start to the Junior C campaign as they proved much too strong for Cortown in round 3. The threat of rain hung in the air on a warm, humid evening in Kilmainham as the North Meath men unleashed a deluge of scores. 

The Ross dominated the opening proceedings and had seven points on the board before Cortown registered their first. Full forward Declan Reilly then effectively decided the contest in the lead up to half time with a devastating scoring burst of 2-2 within a matter of minutes. The second goal started with a Cian Yore tackle in the Carnaross back line followed by a swift, clinical counter attack and gave them a commanding lead of 2-10 to 0-2 going into half time. 

Carnaross never let up after the break as centre forward Shane Casserly found the back of the net. They then brought in the veteran ‘closers’ off the bench to see out the remainder of the game. The replacements had the desired effect and contributed 4 points before Stephen Flattery raised a fourth green flag to round off an impressive team display. The Ross have adapted well to life in Junior C in their first year and now can look forward to the knockout stages. 

Carnaross wish a speedy recovery for Cortown’s Conor Mulroe who was forced off with a serious wrist injury. 

Carnaross: Ollie Murphy, Aidan Lynch, John Brogan, Stephen Dawson, Cillian Comaskey (0-1), Eamonn Comaskey, Cian Yore, Brian Comaskey, Pierce Fleming, Stephen Flattery (1-4), Shane Casserly (1-4), Patrick Smith, Paul Donoghue (0-1), Declan Reilly (2-8), Michael Brogan. Subs: John Plunkett for Lynch, Benny Murphy (0-1) for Smith, Tadgh Skelly (0-2) for Brian Comaskey, Ollie Farrelly (0-1) for Brogan, Jack Yore for Murphy, Damian McArdle for Reilly



© Carnaross GFC, Carnaross, Kells, Co. Meath