Carnaross GAA Club, Co. Meath

2018 A League Division 3

Pos Team Pl W D L SF SA SD Pts
1. Meath Hill 11 9 0 2 200 147 +53 18
2. Bective 11 9 0 2 167 122 +45 18
3. Carnaross 11 8 0 3 178 124 +54 16
4. Drumbaragh 11 6 1 4 150 140 +10 13
5. Dunsany 11 6 0 5 155 152 +3 12
6. Ballinlough 11 6 0 5 152 164 -12 12
7. Kilmainham 11 5 0 6 151 149 +2 10
8. St. Ultan's 11 5 0 6 188 198 -10 10
9. Longwood 11 3 2 6 151 163 -12 8
10. St. Vincent's 11 3 1 7 125 139 -14 7
11. Cortown 11 2 0 9 127 185 -58 4
12. Clann na nGael 11 2 0 9 124 185 -61 4

AFL R1: Carnaross overcome neighbours Ballinlough

Carnaross recorded a resounding victory over neighbours Ballinlough in their opening league encounter of 2018. They had to endure a tough 10 minute period after the interval but they stood firm to run out convincing victors in the end. The last time these two North Meath clubs met in first team action was in 2014 when Ballinlough ran out convincing winners in the Corn Na Bóinne quarter final by 14 points.

Carnaross 4-7 Ballinlough 0-8

A League (Division 3)

Played in Carnaross – 27/1/2018

When Carnaross began their league campaign in 2017 against Clann na nGael at home, the Rathcairn/Athboy men swept up the field to register a goal with their first possession. Fast forward a year and Carnaross achieved this feat through an industrious run and a calm finish from wing back Sam Reynolds. Ballinlough responded with 3 points of their own to leave the game level with 9 minutes played. With heavy underfoot conditions, Carnaross began to move the ball more effectively using short direct kick passes supplemented by thankless support runners from deep. Frank O’Reilly began to greatly trouble the Lough rear-guard who were forced to foul him. He duly converted 3 first half frees from acute angles to keep the scoreboard ticking over. Corner back Peter Carpenter ventured forward and was rewarded when his measured attempt split the posts. At half time Carnaross led 1-04 to 0-05. Both teams were guilty of basic errors that are interwoven into the very fabric of January football when the ground, the conditions and indeed some of the players, were quite heavy.

Carnaross began the second half with renewed optimism knowing that they had stood up to Ballinlough’s physicality in the opening period. They began to move the ball with more purpose and urgency into their forwards. Following good work around the middle of the field by Charles Brogan, Mc Donnell and Flattery, Frank O’Reilly won clean possession, turned his man and laid it off to debutant Paddy Mc Dermott, who confidently finished the ball to the roof of the net. It was a fine team move where the ball never hit the ground once despite 5 players being involved. Ballinlough stepped up their intensity and were rewarded when they reduced the gap to 3 points by converting 2 frees and one from play. Ian Donoghue received a straight red card which further incentivised Ballinlough’s charge. They switched to a 2 man full forward line of Tommy and Mark Mc Cullen and proceeded to rain ball in on top of the Hoops. It proved to be a fruitless endeavour however, as the full back line held firm and frustrated their North Meath counterparts. The Lough’s frustration reached boiling point as they were also reduced to 14 men with 10 minutes remaining.

After weathering the Ballinlough onslaught, Carnaross began to hit them on the counter attack which proved to be decisive. Captain Charles Brogan capped a powerful display with a goal after a lightning quick break out of defence after turning possession over. Frank O Reilly nonchalantly converted a penalty after Stephen Flattery was unceremoniously upended after rounding the keeper and the game was over as a contest with Carnaross running out 11 point winners.

Carnaross utilised their chances despite being starved of possession for large periods of this keenly contested encounter. Ballinlough brought a great physicality to their return to division 3 football which a young Carnaross side never once shied away from and frankly, seemed to relish. Ballinlough will rue key misses from placed balls during a decisive period but ultimately Carnaross ran out deserving winners in the end.

Carnaross: Conor Kenny, Peter Carpenter (0-1), Tómás Plunkett, Peter S Farrelly, Sam Reynolds (1-0), Liam Brogan, Ian Donoghue, Charles Brogan, Michael Brogan, Killian Porter, Stephen Flattery (0-1), Niall Mc Donnell, Cormac O Reilly, Frank O’Reilly(1-5, 1-0 pen, 0-5fs), Paddy Mc Dermott (1-0). Subs: Cillian Comaskey for Michael Brogan, Jack Roche for Comaskey(inj), Pierce Fleming for Cormac O’ Reilly(inj);



© Carnaross GFC, Carnaross, Kells, Co. Meath