Carnaross GAA Club, Co. Meath - A82 DW01

2018 Junior C Championship - Group C

Pos Team Pl W D L SF SA SD Pts
1. Carnaross 4 4 0 0 76 34 +42 8
2. Dunderry 4 3 0 1 68 40 +28 6
3. Syddan 4 2 0 2 25 29 -4 4
4. Blackhall Gaels 4 1 0 3 40 47 -7 2
5. Cortown 4 0 0 4 17 76 -59 0
JCFC Semi-Final: C's suffer their first defeat to miss out on final spot

JCFC Semi-Final: C's suffer their first defeat to miss out on final spot

Carnaross bowed out at the semi-final stage of the Junior C championship to a strong Clann na nGael side.

Carnaross 0-8 Clann na nGael 2-11

Junior C Championship (Semi-Final)

Played in Kilmainham – 16/9/2018

The match was closely contested for large portions but the Athboy/Rath Cairn combination hit two second half goals to seal their place in the final. 

Clann na nGael started strongly with the aid of a stiff breeze and opened up a 5 points to 1 lead after 15 minutes. Carnaross’ sole point came from sharp shooter Declan Reilly while the opposition took full advantage of the wind assistance to fire over several long range efforts. The north Meath outfit narrowed the gap to 2 points with a free from Reilly and an outside of the boot effort from Stephen Flattery after a one-two with midfielder Pierce Fleming. The Carnaross full back line managed to repel any long balls sent in during this period but Clann na nGael hit a further 3 points in the lead in to half time to give themselves a 5 point lead at the break. 

Carnaross emerged with a greater sense of urgency after the break and rattled off three points in quick succession. Stephen Dawson surged forward from full back to score a pair of points including a spectacular effort from the 45 yard line while Reilly added another free. However, this would prove to be as good as it got for Carnaross as Clann na nGael went on to score 1-2 in a matter of minutes. The Ross did rally after this setback with Reilly and Flattery adding to their tallies but Clann na nGael landed the knockout blow with a goal in the dying stages to cement their place in the final.

Although there was disappointment all round for Carnaross following their exit, John L McGee’s charges can be proud of their Junior C campaign. The 2017 Junior D champions emerged unscathed from a difficult group with some exceptional performances and with some exciting underage talent emerging in the near future, there is plenty of reason to believe they can build on this campaign.

Carnaross: Eamonn Comaskey, Aidan Lynch, Stephen Dawson (0-2), John Plunkett, Matt O’Reilly, Paddy Nugent, Cian Yore, Pierce Fleming, Dillon Fox, Paul Donoghue, Brian Comaskey, Stephen Flattery (0-2), Shane Casserly, Declan Reilly (0-4), Michael Brogan. Subs: Patrick Smith for Brogan, Alan O’Reilly for Donoghue, Benny Murphy for Smith, Cormac Sheridan for Lynch


2018 A League Division 3:

R1: Carnaross (4-7) Ballinlough (0-8)
R2: Dunsany (1-11) Carnaross (1-8)
R3: Carnaross (1-7) Kilmainham (0-12)
R4: St Vincents (1-5) Carnaross (1-6)
R5: Carnaross (0-10) Drumbaragh (1-5)
R6: Cl. na nGael (2-6) Carnaross (3-15)
R7: Carnaross (2-15) Longwood (1-13)
R8: Cortown (1-10) Carnaross (1-11)
R9: Bective (0-8) Carnaross (2-11)
R10: Carnaross (4-18) St. Ultans (1-9)
R11: Meath Hill (1-13) Carnaross (2-7)
Playoff: Carnaross (4-13) Blackhall (0-13)

2018 Junior Championship

R1: Carnaross (1-13) Clonard (0-12)
R2: Carnaross (2-9) Clann na nGael (0-7)
R3: Carnaross (4-21) Drumconrath (0-6)
R4: Carnaross (2-17) St Brigids (2-8)
R5: Carnaross (1-14) Moylagh (1-8)
QF: Carnaross (1-18) Dunsany (1-16)
SF: Carnaross (0-12) St Vincents (1-10)

2018 B League Division 5:

R1: Dunshaughlin (2-8) Carnaross (2-11)
R2: v O'Mahonys (Not Played)
R3: Carnaross (0-18) Ratoath (0-9)
R4: Gl. Colmcille (2-10) Carnaross (0-19)
R5: Carnaross (1-25) Don/Ash (0-8)
R6: Drumbaragh (0-5) Carnaross (4-16)
R7: Carnaross (3-18) B'brackey (0-10)
R8: Clonard (scr) Carnaross (w/o)
R9: v Kilbride (Not Played)
Final: Carnaross (1-9) B'brackey (0-7)

2018 Junior C Championship

R1: Carnaross (1-11) Syddan (1-10)
R2: Carnaross (0-13) Dunderry (0-10)
R3: Carnaross (4-22) Cortown (0-4)
R4: Carnaross (0-15) Blackhall (0-7)
QF: Carnaross (1-19) Simonstown (1-9)
SF: Carnaross (0-8) Cln. na nGael (2-11)

2018 Tailteann Cup

QF: Carnaross (3-17) Kilbride (0-13)
SF: Carnaross (2-7) Dunsany (1-9)
Final: Carnaross (1-9) St Vincents (0-9)




Our Pitch Sponsors

Thanks to all our sponsors for your continued support