Carnaross GAA Club, Co. Meath - A82 DW01

2018 Junior C Championship - Group C

Pos Team Pl W D L SF SA SD Pts
1. Carnaross 4 4 0 0 76 34 +42 8
2. Dunderry 4 3 0 1 68 40 +28 6
3. Syddan 4 2 0 2 25 29 -4 4
4. Blackhall Gaels 4 1 0 3 40 47 -7 2
5. Cortown 4 0 0 4 17 76 -59 0
JCFC R1: Carnaross edge thriller with one point to spare over Syddan

JCFC R1: Carnaross edge thriller with one point to spare over Syddan

Carnaross marked their return to the Junior C grade with the narrowest of victories over a battling Syddan side on a fine spring evening in Moynalty.

Carnaross 1-11 Syddan 1-10

Junior C Championship (Round 1)

Played in Moynalty – 14/4/2018

Carnaross marked their return to the Junior C grade with the narrowest of victories over a battling Syddan side on a fine spring evening in Moynalty. Interestingly The Ross’s last outing at this grade was played in Drumbaragh in 2002 and featured John “Bonecrusher” O’Reilly in goals wearing steel toe boots. Jack Yore had big shoes to fill but performed with distinction between the posts today.

Carnaross started the strongest and built up a 0-3 to 0-1 lead after ten minutes with Stephen Flattery (2) and Pierce Fleming on target after good build up play from Shane Casserly and Brian Comaskey. Carnaross were on top throughout the first quarter. Carnaross opened up a 4 point lead with a free from Fleming and a fine score from Comaskey, after Peter Mullan’s lightning quick hands. A scoreless ten minutes was ended with a Syddan placed ball after a harsh free was awarded against John Brogan. The Carnaross full back line are all somehow related and were otherwise very solid, although Alan O’Reilly was lucky to avoid a black card later in the game. Dillon Fox caught the next kick out and the ball was worked up field through Fleming with Flattery on hand to restore a 4 point advantage. Syddan were guilty of missing a couple of chances in this period although credit must go to the Carnaross rear guard who kept pressure on the kickers. From one of these Syddan wides, a short kick out from Jack Yore to Alan O’Reilly was well worked up the field through Stephen Dawson, Fox, Fleming and Patrick “The Stalk” Smith before Flattery applied the finishing touch to leave the half time score 0-7 to 0-2 in favour of the Ross. 

Syddan started the second half brightly with two quick-fire points reducing the deficit to three. Carnaross responded well when a point attempt dropped into Jack Yore’s hands and a thumping clearance found Brian Comaskey. Comaskey played a one-two with Flattery before laying off to Casserly who gave the keeper no chance to leave Carnaross 1-7 to 0-4 in front after 35 minutes. With Fleming suffering cramp the next 5 minutes belonged to Syddan who rattled off 4 successive points and reduce the difference to 2. Peter Mullan suffered his long-awaited first ever black card in this period and was replaced by Ollie Murphy. Murph was lacking match sharpness and gave some questionable passes before eventually finding Stephen Flattery who hit his fifth point from play to leave a goal between the sides 1-8 to 0-8 after 47 mins. Despite Carnaross leading for the entire game, the game was in the melting pot and Syddan hit 1-2 to take a 2 point lead with 5 minutes remaining. Ollie Murphy then telegraphed a pass in to Colin Yore who could have hit the net but was closed off with the ball breaking to Flattery who reduced the deficit to the minimum. With 3 minutes remaining Shane Casserly got the ball in space and was tearing through the middle in search of an equaliser only for an unmerciful clothes line to haul him down. Carnaross were awarded the free which Murphy converted and the Syddan man was shown the red card. 

The game became a 13v14 affair from the resulting kick out when both Dillon Fox and his man were shown red cards following an off-the-ball incident. With the game in injury time and the score a draw at 1-10 apiece it took guile and experience to settle the tie. Stephen Dawson got on the ball sixty yards from goal. He soloed, he hopped, he soloed with the left, he looked around, the crowd was roaring, his teammates were roaring, but Dawson wasn’t listening he was curling it with the left over the black spot. Syddan were given every chance to equalise with two scorable frees dubiously awarded deep into injury time with the second effort hitting the post, but Carnaross held on for a battling victory and a good start to the Junior C campaign. 

Carnaross: Jack Yore, Alan O’Reilly, John Brogan, Matthew O’Reilly, Cian Yore, Eamonn Comaskey, Stephen Dawson (0-1), Pierce Fleming (0-2), Dillon Fox, Patrick Smith, Brian Comaskey, (0-1), Stephen Flattery (0-6), Peter Mullan, Shane Casserly (1-0), Colin Yore. Subs: Ollie Murphy (0-1) for Peter Mullan (black card).




2018 A League Division 3:

R1: Carnaross (4-7) Ballinlough (0-8)
R2: Dunsany (1-11) Carnaross (1-8)
R3: Carnaross (1-7) Kilmainham (0-12)
R4: St Vincents (1-5) Carnaross (1-6)
R5: Carnaross (0-10) Drumbaragh (1-5)
R6: Cl. na nGael (2-6) Carnaross (3-15)
R7: Carnaross (2-15) Longwood (1-13)
R8: Cortown (1-10) Carnaross (1-11)
R9: Bective (0-8) Carnaross (2-11)
R10: Carnaross (4-18) St. Ultans (1-9)
R11: Meath Hill (1-13) Carnaross (2-7)
Playoff: Carnaross (4-13) Blackhall (0-13)

2018 Junior Championship

R1: Carnaross (1-13) Clonard (0-12)
R2: Carnaross (2-9) Clann na nGael (0-7)
R3: Carnaross (4-21) Drumconrath (0-6)
R4: Carnaross (2-17) St Brigids (2-8)
R5: Carnaross (1-14) Moylagh (1-8)
QF: Carnaross (1-18) Dunsany (1-16)
SF: Carnaross (0-12) St Vincents (1-10)

2018 B League Division 5:

R1: Dunshaughlin (2-8) Carnaross (2-11)
R2: v O'Mahonys (Not Played)
R3: Carnaross (0-18) Ratoath (0-9)
R4: Gl. Colmcille (2-10) Carnaross (0-19)
R5: Carnaross (1-25) Don/Ash (0-8)
R6: Drumbaragh (0-5) Carnaross (4-16)
R7: Carnaross (3-18) B'brackey (0-10)
R8: Clonard (scr) Carnaross (w/o)
R9: v Kilbride (Not Played)
Final: Carnaross (1-9) B'brackey (0-7)

2018 Junior C Championship

R1: Carnaross (1-11) Syddan (1-10)
R2: Carnaross (0-13) Dunderry (0-10)
R3: Carnaross (4-22) Cortown (0-4)
R4: Carnaross (0-15) Blackhall (0-7)
QF: Carnaross (1-19) Simonstown (1-9)
SF: Carnaross (0-8) Cln. na nGael (2-11)

2018 Tailteann Cup

QF: Carnaross (3-17) Kilbride (0-13)
SF: Carnaross (2-7) Dunsany (1-9)
Final: Carnaross (1-9) St Vincents (0-9)




Our Pitch Sponsors

Thanks to all our sponsors for your continued support