Carnaross GAA Club, Co. Meath - A82 DW01

2018 Junior Championship - Group A

Pos Team Pl W D L SF SA SD Pts
1. Carnaross 5 5 0 0 104 50 +54 10
2. St Brigid's 5 4 0 1 96 67 +29 8
3. Moylagh 5 3 0 2 71 77 -6 6
4. Clonard 5 2 0 3 80 67 +13 4
5. Clann na nGael 5 1 0 4 65 73 -8 2
6. Drumconrath 5 0 0 5 37 119 -82 0
JFC R4: Winning run continues against Brigids

JFC R4: Winning run continues against Brigids

Carnaross preserved their winning run in the junior championship as their firepower proved too much for the previously unbeaten St Brigids.

Carnaross 2-17 St. Brigid’s 2-8

Junior Championship (Round 4)

Played in Ballinlough – 12/8/2018

The match was played in ideal conditions on a warm evening on the impressive Ballinlough surface. The Ross started brightly with early points from Charles Brogan and Dermot McGee giving them a three point cushion despite playing against the breeze.

St Brigids then found their rhythm and created a number of opportunities with some strong runs from deep. The first half was defined by the midfield battle which ebbed and flowed throughout. The two sides traded points for the remainder of the half to leave the scores at 9 points to 5 at the break.

Carnaross came out firing in the second half scoring a goal and a couple of points, corner forward John L McGee raising the green flag. Carnaross looked set to cruise home but St Brigids struck back almost immediately, clinically taking advantage a lapse in concentration in the Carnaross defence to run in a goal.

Carnaross were forced to dig deep in the middle of the second half as Brigids sought to narrow the gap. They had to make a couple of substitutions with keeper Conor Kenny and wing back Peter Carpenter forced off through injury. Niall McDonnell was to the fore in this period, winning several kick outs from substitute keeper Shane McNiffe while Dermot McGee, Killian Porter and Patrick McDermott kept the scoreboard ticking over with some well worked scores.

St Brigids had one more sting in the tail, as they intercepted the ball in the Carnaross defence and palmed the ball to the back of the net. The Ross responded well though as substitute John Brogan found John L McGee with a brilliant, though possibly unintentional, through ball. McGee made no mistake from close range to get his second goal of the game and give Carnaross the victory with a full time score of 2-17 to 2-8.

Carnaross now face Moylagh in the next round as they aim to secure top spot in the group.

Carnaross: Conor Kenny, Liam Brogan, Peter Farrelly, Ian Donoghue, Peter Carpenter, Tomás Plunkett, Sam Reynolds, Dermot McGee (0-5), Cian O’Reilly (0-1), Killian Porter (0-2), Frank O’Reilly (0-2, 1f), Niall McDonnell, Patrick McDermott (0-3), John L McGee (2-1), Charles Brogan (0-4). Subs: Shane McNiffe for Kenny, Jack Roche for Carpenter, John Brogan for Reynolds, Cormac O’Reilly for Porter, Thomas Nugent for Charles Brogan.


2018 A League Division 3:

R1: Carnaross (4-7) Ballinlough (0-8)
R2: Dunsany (1-11) Carnaross (1-8)
R3: Carnaross (1-7) Kilmainham (0-12)
R4: St Vincents (1-5) Carnaross (1-6)
R5: Carnaross (0-10) Drumbaragh (1-5)
R6: Cl. na nGael (2-6) Carnaross (3-15)
R7: Carnaross (2-15) Longwood (1-13)
R8: Cortown (1-10) Carnaross (1-11)
R9: Bective (0-8) Carnaross (2-11)
R10: Carnaross (4-18) St. Ultans (1-9)
R11: Meath Hill (1-13) Carnaross (2-7)
Playoff: Carnaross (4-13) Blackhall (0-13)

2018 Junior Championship

R1: Carnaross (1-13) Clonard (0-12)
R2: Carnaross (2-9) Clann na nGael (0-7)
R3: Carnaross (4-21) Drumconrath (0-6)
R4: Carnaross (2-17) St Brigids (2-8)
R5: Carnaross (1-14) Moylagh (1-8)
QF: Carnaross (1-18) Dunsany (1-16)
SF: Carnaross (0-12) St Vincents (1-10)

2018 B League Division 5:

R1: Dunshaughlin (2-8) Carnaross (2-11)
R2: v O'Mahonys (Not Played)
R3: Carnaross (0-18) Ratoath (0-9)
R4: Gl. Colmcille (2-10) Carnaross (0-19)
R5: Carnaross (1-25) Don/Ash (0-8)
R6: Drumbaragh (0-5) Carnaross (4-16)
R7: Carnaross (3-18) B'brackey (0-10)
R8: Clonard (scr) Carnaross (w/o)
R9: v Kilbride (Not Played)
Final: Carnaross (1-9) B'brackey (0-7)

2018 Junior C Championship

R1: Carnaross (1-11) Syddan (1-10)
R2: Carnaross (0-13) Dunderry (0-10)
R3: Carnaross (4-22) Cortown (0-4)
R4: Carnaross (0-15) Blackhall (0-7)
QF: Carnaross (1-19) Simonstown (1-9)
SF: Carnaross (0-8) Cln. na nGael (2-11)

2018 Tailteann Cup

QF: Carnaross (3-17) Kilbride (0-13)
SF: Carnaross (2-7) Dunsany (1-9)
Final: Carnaross (1-9) St Vincents (0-9)




Our Pitch Sponsors

Thanks to all our sponsors for your continued support